Bye bye 2014…

2014 – what a year! So much happened, so many changes… I can’t quite believe it’s (almost) over! I also can’t believe what I’m about to say. Please don’t make me say it… ok FINE. This year has FLOWN by, where did it go?!

A first for me... I not only TOUCHED a fish, but I caught one too! December 2014
A first for me… I not only TOUCHED a fish, but I caught one too! – December 2014

Yep. I’m one of THOSE people who says time flies, where has this year gone, Christmas crept up on me. My ten year old self would be disgusted! I’m pretty sure I vowed never to be that person. Then again, at that time, I also didn’t like mangoes, salmon or dark chocolate and when I grew up, I wanted to be a marine biologist. I loved tidying my room, was crazy flexible and hated getting candles as presents. I had a bad haircut and thought fluro orange really suited me. No. Just, no.

But one thing that HASN’T changed, is my love for new beginnings, new goals and new year’s resolutions. I make them every year. The first time I made them I think I was about seven years old and I remember my list was about 15 items long. I can remember just two of them. One was ‘stop biting my nails’ – that one has since made an appearance EVERY single year. I did pretty well this year but I’ve still not kicked the habit and B continues to shout, “DON’T BITE YOUR NAILS!!” at me every time they creep close. The second resolution I made 22 years ago (oh my GOSH that’s a terrifyingly long time ago!) is too embarrassing to mention and I still cringe when I think about it.

Fast forward to December 30, 2014 and I’ve narrowed my list down but it remains pretty much the same every year. I am a lot more realistic these days so I no longer expect to ‘go to the gym six days a week or eat healthy all the time’. Achievable goals are much nicer to work towards and I’ve found that this year, I’ve pretty much stuck to them which makes me feel really proud and all warm and fuzzy inside.

Sunshiney Perth walks make me VERY happy! December 2014
Sunshiney Perth walks make me VERY happy! – December 2014

So as 2014 draws to a close and 2015 is ready and raring to go, here’s a look back at what I’ve achieved and what I’m aiming towards.

Farewell 2014, hello 2015!
Farewell 2014, hello 2015! Not my quote, I googled it – #IBV
1) Update my blog monthly
I reckon I did PRETTY well on this one – I only missed one month! And that’s cause for three of those four weeks, we were travelling and the other one was split between leaving London and arriving in Perth so I reckon that’s a pretty good excuse, don’t you?
For 2015, I plan to continue blogging regularly and to also make my humble little page a little bit shinier. Maybe do some more guest blog posts and just see where this lovely writing outlet can take me.
I just adore writing and when my work doesn’t allow me to get overly creative, this is where I come to play. I love that people read my blog, I know I sound like a broken record but really,  I do! So thanks!
2014 has been my happy year! December 2014
2014 has been my happy year! – December 2014
2) Eat cleaner
This one proved to be easier than I was expecting. It’s no secret that I’m a Lorna Jane fan and an instagram addict. So this year has seen both of these obsessions help move my way of eating to a whole other level. Lorna Jane’s philosophy for life and food is exactly how I want to live my life. Eat clean foods in their most natural form. I have made some BIG changes this year and feel SO much better for it. I get daily inspiration from people I follow on instagram, so it too has been quite a life changer for me which I think makes it easier to justify why I’m constantly taking pics, uploading photos and scrolling through images.
Salted caramel chocolate popcorn - clean and healthy, who wouldda thought?! December 2014
Salted caramel chocolate popcorn – clean and healthy, who wouldda thought?!
December 2014
But I’m no saint. In the last few months, I’ve slipped a bit – travel was hard and I think you all know how much B and I enjoy a beer, margarita or wine. Also settling back in to a routine, Christmas – all have helped me wobble on the clean eating bandwagon but this is DEFINITELY something I’d like to continue in 2015.
Christmas Day lunch - bbq prawns and a roasted sweet potato and pomegranate salad - who said healthy wasn't delicious?! December 2014
Christmas Day lunch – bbq prawns and a roasted sweet potato and pomegranate salad – who said healthy wasn’t delicious?! – December 2014
And to help this goal along, B – my ridiculously lovely, generous, wonderful husband – bought me a Thermomix!! Weeee!!! I am SO excited! This is one combined Birthday/Christmas present I am totally on board with! Homemade almond milk, butter, nut butters, clean treats and dinners – oh the possibilities are endless! I CAN’T WAIT!! I’d like to try to have less junk in the house (hard when B likes it which is totally fair enough, I just find it hard to say no) and to control my portions. My Grandad did once tell me I ate so much I must  have hollow toes and lately, I’m beginning to wonder if perhaps he was right…
IMG_20141128_130809
YUM! Paleo choc raspberry coconut tarts. Thermi will make these even better and quicker! – November 2014
3) Move more
More running planned for 2015
More running planned for 2015 December 2014
For this resolution, I did half good, half not so good. I upped my yoga practice this year and fell completely head over heels in love with it. I joined a gym in London and got into a great routine of going a few mornings a week and I really, really enjoyed it.
Wandering round beautiful King's Park
Wandering round beautiful King’s Park – December 2014
However, since moving to Perth, I’ve dropped the ball a bit. It’s taken me longer than I expected to get back into a routine but in the last few weeks,  I’ve started to get up early three or four mornings a week to do yoga, run or go for a walk. My hip and legs give me trouble when I run (old lady Murphy) but I’m working on sorting these out too, so I can continue to stay active.
Tree pose - my favourite yoga position
Tree pose – my favourite yoga position December 2014
In 2015, I’d like to do more yoga, more weight training and more mini fitness sessions. I have bought myself a sparkly weekly journal to use and I aim to write my health and fitness goals each week, to hold myself accountable.  I’ve joined the gym at work and plan to keep my workouts exciting and varied so I don’t get bored and want to give up.
When in doubt, just add glitter!
When in doubt, just add glitter! – December 2014
4) Stop biting my nails
Sigh. Seriously, WHY can I not break this habit?! I have my husband shouting at me (not in a horrible way, just a scary stop-doing-that-right-now way) I know it’s a horrible habit, I know how pretty my hands look with lovely long nails, and I find it seriously gross when I see strangers biting their nails… yet I can’t seem to snap out of it!
I did SO well at the start of the year. When we went travelling, I got a gel manicure which lasted over three weeks and was brilliant! But since we’ve been back, ugh…
SO, yet again, this one goes on my 2015 new year’s resolution list. For added encouragement, I plan on getting a gel manicure every few months to ensure I stop this horrid habit. A regular manicure doesn’t last and if I paint my own nails, they chip, the polish makes my nails flake and I just get annoyed. Gels seem to be the only thing that works so this should give me something to look forward to! And if you see me chewing away, feel free to yell at me, I hereby give you permission.
My holiday manicure - my own nails and all!
My holiday manicure – my own nails and all! – August 2014
So here’s to 2014 – it was a wonderful one for me. My healthiest yet, more travel, new friends, new job, new city, new country (sort of) new adventures. I’m excited to see what the next will bring and look forward to sharing my thoughts, stories (probably mostly food related) and resolution progress. May 2015 be the biggest, brightest, happiest and shiniest year for you yet!
IMG_20141209_182238
Here’s to 2015! – November 2014
Love Dan aka lifelovetravelfood
xx
2 thoughts on “Bye bye 2014…

Leave a Reply

