Sharing my current pancake obsession with the world

I am quite annoying. I go through phases of absolutely LOVING something and then one day, the obsession passes and I’m looking for the next thing to fall in love with. I know my darling husband is nodding in agreement to this statement as he is often the one who points out when I’m going through a new obsession as I tend to be rather oblivious.

A few examples spring to mind. Like Chinese cooking – I watched Chinese cooking shows, bought a wok, steam baskets, cookbook, and all the ingredients… it lasted a good few months and then I was done. Can’t really remember the last time I opened my once much-loved Chinese cookbook. The gym – I went every day one week, fully expecting this obsession to last forever. I went to classes on the weekend, bought all the gear… aaaaand I think the last time I went was when I was six months pregnant.

I blame all this on the fact that I’m an Aquarian. I don’t really follow star signs, but apparently Librans (B’s star sign) and Aquarians are the perfect match so I like to believe this one. Aquarians are also apparently quite flippant in that they get so focussed on one thing and then lose interest and move on to something else. Yep, that’s SO me! So when you think about it, it’s really not my fault, it’s my star signs fault.

And so onto my latest obsession which is food related. Pancakes. I have eaten them for breakfast five of the last seven days and I’m already thinking about having them again tomorrow. I’m also quite proud of the fact that I made this recipe up myself, it’s healthy and they’re VERY quick to make. They take just 15 minutes from start to plate and are kid-friendly too. You can make them the night before and just re-heat in the morning if you want to take them to work or if you’d rather spend those 15 minutes sleeping in rather than cooking.

So here’s my recipe for super quick, easy, healthy and delicious pancakes. I hope you love them and if you make them, I’d love to see your snaps on instagram so I can feel better about not being the only one currently obsessed with pancakes.

Healthy cacao and maple pancakes
Serves one – makes around 6-8 small pancakes

Healthy pancakes_lifelovetravelfood

What you’ll need…

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup almond meal (or flour – go for wholemeal if you can)
  • 1 tsp brewers yeast (this one is for the breastfeeding Mummas to help boost your milk supply – just leave it out if you don’t have any)
  • 1 tbsp raw cacao powder (or substitute with pure cocoa powder)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1 tsp pure maple syrup
  • butter/oil for cooking

How it’s done…

Place everything in a blender and blitz until smooth – I use my stick blender. If it’s too thick, add a touch more milk.

Heat butter/oil in a frypan over a medium heat. Once the pan is nice and hot, pour in your mixture. Don’t make them too big as they’ll be too hard to flip. Once they start to bubble on top (around two minutes) flip and cook for another two minutes.

And that’s it! Serve topped with whatever you like. I’ve tested mine with combos of Greek yogurt, berries, granola, maple, nut butter, banana or cacao nibs. Delicious!

– – –

For more pancake pics, and everything else I’m obsessed with, check me out on instagram (another obsession of mine) – @lifelovetravelfood

Dan xx

Leave a Reply

