You need this recipe in your life… three ingredient chocolate mousse

I get a serious buzz when someone asks me for one of my recipes. Even when my Mum or sister asks me to send them one, I get quite excited – I know, I need to get out more. But this super simple, easy, three ingredient, QUICK chocolate mousse I put up on instagram the other night attracted a lot of attention and so to all you lovely girls who requested it, this one’s for you – thanks for showing me some love! And please keep it coming!

Lately my cooking has come down to what’s left in the freezer and what can I use up in our pantry so we don’t have to a) give it away b) throw it away or c) cart it across the other side of the country because I’m a huge food hoarder who buys in epic proportions when my favourite brands come on special. So this is where this recipe comes in. When looking through my pantry, I realised I had no less than ten tins of coconut cream. Oh the shame!! So I immediately started thinking of ways to use it up because if I’d told B we needed to take all ten tins with us, I think he’d divorce me. It’s also no secret I’m struggling with a bit of a sugar addiction at the moment so I’m trying to find ways to curb these cravings without reaching for that damn chocolate box which is NEVER empty.

This three ingredient healthy chocolate mousse can be whipped up in an ad break – it’s SO simple! I hope you love it and please do tag me on instagram if you try it – @lifelovetravelfood #lifelovetravelfood

* * *

Healthy chocolate mousse
Makes four – six serves (depending on how big you like your servings!)

Healthy chocolate mousse_lifelovetravelfood

Super important note. You need to put your coconut cream in the fridge the night before or for at least 8hrs before you make this. Yes it’s quick to make, but you need to do this step first otherwise it won’t work!

What you’ll need…

  • 2 x tins coconut cream, left in the fridge overnight or for at least 8hrs (I only use Ayam brand as it’s the only one I’ve found that is all natural)
  • 2 x tablespoons raw cacao powder (or pure cocoa)
  • 1 tablespoon rice malt syrup (more if you prefer it sweeter. You can also use honey or maple syrup)
  • optional – 1 tsp pure vanilla – I’ve put this as optional cause otherwise the title of my blog is a lie and this makes it four ingredient chocolate mousse! I only added it in because I have a huge bottle of vanilla I need to use up! The mousse still tastes amazing without adding this.

How it’s done…

REMEMBER, your coconut cream MUST be chilled in the fridge for this recipe to work.

Scoop out the thick part of the coconut cream into a bowl, leaving the watery part behind. Don’t throw away the watery-juicey stuff, put it in your morning porridge or smoothie! Add the cacao, syrup and vanilla (if using) and whisk together until smooth and fully combined. You can use a blender if you like but another reason I love this recipe so much is there’s hardly any washing up! A whisk is much easier to wash up than a whole blender!

And that’s it! Super delicious and ridiculously yummy. I top mine with some frozen berries but that’s probably so it looks nicer on instagram.

ENJOY!

Dan xx

* * *

PS. I realise I have posted a similar recipe a while back – I’m planning on fixing up my blog so you can search for recipes and have a page dedicated to my recipes so you’re not always inundated with food emails… but I haven’t quite worked out how to do that just yet! Sorry!!

6 thoughts on “You need this recipe in your life… three ingredient chocolate mousse

Leave a Reply

