Baby breakfast time – banana and berry oatmeal slice

Ok so that was a bit of a blog fail! I was just playing around with my blog (which has been neglected for so very, very long!) and published a ‘new’ blog post that was pretty much a blank page. Whoopsies! I’ve just quickly added my recipe below and updated it soΒ hopefully not too many people saw my faux pas (even if everyone who gets my blogs via email will see it! Ah well, you live and learn!)

Ok! Recipe time!

I am deep in mummy meal prep mode as I have recently gone back to work (yeah… I should REALLY update my blog cause since my last post I’ve not only finished maternity leave, but I’ve resigned from my previous job, moved interstate and started a new job! Just been a touch busy!) Today I spent much of the morning getting ready for next week so I’m not too frantic and frazzled at the end of each working day.

I wanted to make a new breakfast recipe for H and now it’s coming into Summer (how it is this fricken hot and it’s NOT EVEN SUMMER YET?!) and it’s a bit too hot to give him porridge every morning. I’m also loving finger foods that he can feed himself so was wracking my brain for recipes to make.

This is one I got from a friend, V, and she asked me if I could make it healthier than the original. I did that (and shared the recipe here!) and really enjoyed having it for breakfast myself but it still contained sugar and other things I wasn’t so keen on H having so I edited it again.

The result was great! It was SUPER easy (key for me these days!) baked really well, stayed together (I’ve had more than my fair share of baking fails recently!) it’s healthy and tastes yum! I can’t wait for him to try it this week!

* * *

Banana and berry oatmeal slice
Makes 12 slices
This is a baby friendly recipe (8months +) but is also adult friendly!

Banana and blueberry oatmeal slice_lifelovetravelfood

What you’ll need…

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 wholemeal flour
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 1/4 cups water (or 1 cup whole milk, 1/4 cup water)
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup berries of your choice (frozen is fine)

How it’s done…

Preheat your oven to 190 degrees and line a rectangular baking tin with baking paper.

In a large bowl, addΒ the oats, cinnamon, baking powder, wholemeal flour and coconut – mix to combine. In a jug, add water, yogurt, coconut oil, eggs and vanilla and whisk to combine. Pour the liquid mix into the dry mix and stir to combine. Stir through the banana and berries then pour into your prepared baking tray.

Bake for 30-35 mins or until golden and baked through. Once baked, cool in the tin then slice into pieces and freeze for bub. Delicious!!

– – –

As always, I’d love to hear from you if you try any of my recipes! Drop me a note below or better yet, over on instagram @lifelovetravelfood cause the addiction is still going strong!

Dan xx

SaveSave

7 thoughts on “Baby breakfast time – banana and berry oatmeal slice

    1. Such a great recipe Gina! Sooo easy and great for toddlers to eat on their own! Add a touch of honey, maple or rice malt syrup for the grown up version, serve warm with a touch of milk – yum!

      Like

Leave a Reply

