Oh hey there 2017!

Hello 2017 and hello to my first blog for the new year! I’m excited for what this year will bring but I’m also sad to see 2016 go. I noticed a lot of people saying they were glad to see the back of last year and they were happy it was all over but for me, last year was wonderful. I spent much of the year watching my baby grow, travelled (sort of), moved back home, spent time with family, caught up with friends, and started a new job.

So what’s in store for 2017? Firstly, I’m one of those annoying people who sets new years resolutions and I LOVE them. I have done it for as long as I can remember and find them quite therapeutic. I’ve become a lot more realistic over the years and set broader goals and things I know are achievable… that’s not to say I pass with flying colours cause ‘stop biting my nails’ continues to grace the list each and every year.

I write down my goals because once they’re on paper I feel I’m more accountable for them. I also tell people (like you guys) so they’re out there and I can talk about my progress throughout the year. I love reading other people’s resolutions or goals as I find it quite inspirational, so here are mine for the blogging world to read!

lifelovetravelfood_2017 goals
Perhaps a goal should be to take better photos! Don’t worry if you can’t read them here, they’re listed below! @lifelovetravelfood
  1. Continue to eat clean – less sugar, less processed/packaged food

This one, while daunting at first, has become surprisingly easy to stick to. It’s taken me years to get to this point though! Stocking up on fresh fruit and veges, trying to avoid the middle aisles of the supermarket (except for things like tinned tomatoes, coconut oil and nappies!) and planning meals around what’s in season and what’s in the fridge have been some of my best tips to sticking to healthy eating.

I want H to grow up eating as healthy as possible and I think it’s important for us as his parents to set a good example.

And of course, not denying myself treats like wine (cause I think we all know I’m NOT giving that up!) ice-cream on holidays, visiting bakeries on the weekend – because life is for living and if I eat well MOST of the time, the treats taste so much better!

lifelovetravelfood_eatclean
I hope our good eating habits will rub off on this kale-eating guy
@lifelovetravelfood

2. Make exercise a priority and schedule time in my calendar

Apart from 2015 when I was on a fitness role, exercise has never been that easy for me to stick to. Throw in a baby and full-time work and it’s slipped further and further down the priority list. This year I’d like to exercise but I also want to be realistic. I won’t exercise every day, I won’t get up an hour earlier than I have to and I probably won’t run home from work so I’m not going to promise myself that I will.

lifelovetravelfood_peaceloveyoga
This top needs more use in 2017
@lifelovetravelfood

I think what I might try to do is try to get up half an hour earlier two or three mornings a week and try to move when H is having his morning sleep on the weekends. I want to exercise because I feel great when I do, but I don’t want it to be a chore. Go for walks on the weekends with my boys and maybe even try to get out at lunchtime once or twice a week. This one will be the hardest to stick to so I will also try to schedule my workouts into my calendar to be more accountable (I’m a lists girl and HATE having things un-ticked!) so I’ll keep you posted!

3. Listen more – less about ‘me’ and ‘my’ stories

This one really annoys me when it happens to me – when I’m telling a story and the person I’m chatting to turns it around to be a story about them. And then I realised I do it too so if I find it annoying, other people probably do too! So this year I plan on listening more – it’s a wonderful way to learn more and be a better friend.

4. Me time! Read/yoga/get my nails done – a happier me is better for my family

You can’t pour from an empty cup. I see this quote everywhere and always agree with it but never actually do it! Sometimes I put so much time and effort into making sure others are happy that I find myself feeling drained, unhappy and sometimes resentful which doesn’t help anyone.

lifelovetravelfood_metime
2017 I’m going to prioritise ME!
@lifelovetravelfood

Here’s how I’m going to make sure I get some me time in this year – I want to make sure I do a really good job at work, but also leave on time to spend quality time with H and B. I need to remember how good yoga feels and DO it! Sometimes the hardest part is just rolling out my mat which seems ridiculous, but so true! Read a book – oh when was the last time I did that?! Blog – I want to take time out like I’m doing right now, while H sleeps and B watches the cricket. It’s the perfect time and I really enjoy doing it, yet last year I seemed to just waste this time doing… I’m not really sure what!

lifelovetravelfood_yoga
My beautiful yoga mat was neglected last year
@lifelovetravelfood

I recently got a remedial massage and holy moly did it make me feel like a million bucks or what?! Sure, not something I plan on doing every day but I’d love to take time out to get a mani, massage or treat myself (I wonder what B will think of this one!) because I work damn hard at work and at home and I deserve it!

5. Be organised – do a little each day to spread the load

When I know I have to clean the kitchen, the bathroom, tidy H’s toy room, do six loads of washing, change the sheets, vacuum and mop, go grocery shopping, do weekly meal prep, make more food for H… it all seems too much and quite overwhelming. Plus now I’m working full-time, the idea of spending my weekends cleaning and doing house stuff just seems like a waste. So this was something I actually started a few weeks ago – I made a list of all the things that need to be done each week, and broke them up over seven days and all of a sudden it seemed much more manageable.

lifelovetravelfood_baby
I can’t clean when this guy is awake – this is what happens!
@lifelovetravelfood

For example, on Mondays I clean the toilet, basin and mirror. On Tuesdays I clean the bath and shower. Wednesdays I do one load of washing and clean the kitchen sink, bench and stovetop… breaking up these chores and doing them in the evening when H has gone to bed has so far been working out well and means I have much less boring stuff to do on my precious weekends.

6. Stop. Biting. Nails – reward for sticking to it (see #4)

Oh my gosh, I am embarrassed this has yet again made it onto my new years resolution list. I do really well for a good few months then fall off the wagon and I don’t know why! It’s a horrible habit and I hate it! So, I will get a regular manicures (again, let’s see what B says about this one!) to encourage myself to STOP this habit once and for all. Surely this will work?!

***

So that’s my list! I will try to revisit them partway through the year to see where I’m at and to make myself more accountable. I will also post regularly on instagram cause that addiction is still going strong!

Thanks for reading and I hope your 2017 is off to a beautiful start!

Dan x

Leave a Reply

