A healthy sweet treat for the whole family – strawberries and cream muffins

It’s no secret I’m a lazy baker. I prefer to cook savoury meals that I can kind of just throw together and add whatever I have to make it work. I don’t like having to be methodical and measure perfectly which you need to do when it comes to baking, unless you’re keen for a baking fail – been there, done that… more times than I care to admit.

I baked these muffins on the weekend cause I ‘need’ something yummy to take to work each day for that mid-morning snack (rice crackers just aren’t cutting it at the moment). I wanted to make them healthy so that H could eat them, but still have enough flavour and ‘non-hippy-ness’ that B would eat them too. Enter the below winning recipe – hooray!

The name is a bit of a lie… there’s no cream in them but ‘strawberries and yogurt muffins’ didn’t quite have the same ring to it. These can be adapted to suit all tastes – change up the fruit if strawberries aren’t your thing. Add in chocolate if you want them to be even more awesome. Make them into baby sized muffins for the little people in your life. They freeze beautifully too so make in bulk and enjoy!

Healthy strawberries and cream muffins
Makes 12 muffins or 24 mini muffins

healthy strawberry and cream muffins_lifelovetravelfood

What you’ll need…

2 x eggs (can substitute for chia gel if you need these to be egg-free)
3 x bananas
½ cup x natural greek yogurt
1 tsp x pure vanilla
2 tsp x cinnamon
1 cup x desiccated coconut
1/3 cup x coconut flour (can substitute for wholemeal plain flour)
1 cup x wholemeal spelt flour (can substitute for regular plain flour)
2 tbsp x psyllium husks (or LSA mix – both are optional, just leave out if you don’t have it)
1 tbsp x chia seeds (optional, leave out if you don’t have them)
1 tsp x bicarb soda
1 tsp x baking powder
1 cup x strawberries, quartered (substitute with your favourite berries – frozen is fine or a mixture of fruit and chocolate chips)

How it’s done…

Preheat oven to 180o. Line a 12 hole muffin tin with muffin cases (no need to use muffin cases if you’re using silicon moulds).

Combine all ingredients (except the strawberries) in a food processor (or you can mix by hand) and mix until just combined (TMX speed 3.5, 30 sec). Fold through the strawberries (TMX reverse, speed 3, 20sec).

Pour into muffin moulds and bake for 35mins or until a skewer comes out clean (for the mini muffins, bake for around 20 minutes).

YUM! These muffins store best in the fridge – just warm in the microwave for a few seconds and enjoy.

– – –

I hope you enjoy these! Let me know if you bake them for you or your little people and tag me on instagram @lifelovetravelfoood #lifelovetravelfood !

Love Dan xx

2 thoughts on “A healthy sweet treat for the whole family – strawberries and cream muffins

    1. Oh I hope so! For savoury snacks I make:
      * mini egg muffins – blitzed up raw veges (whatever you have but I’ve used pumpkin, broccoli, cauliflower, carrot, zucchini) mixed with eggs, cheese (I left this out until H was about one, when he ate anything!!) and a bit of milk. Cook in mini muffin tins for about 20mins. They freeze fine too.
      * pumpkin fritters – mashed pumpkin, canneli beans, chia seeds, wholemeal flour, egg – mix and drop spoonfuls onto a tray and bake until cooked (fritters baked in the oven are SO much easier than standing around a stove!).
      * green mini pancakes (I also give him these for breakfast – I got the recipe from Aliceinhealthyland on instagram).
      * vege fritters – same as the pumpkin ones really, just with whatever veges you’ve got (I used steamed cauli and broccoli that I mashed). I try to look at ways of getting as many veges into H as possible as I know it won’t last forever!
      * This is a breakfast but you could give him avo on rye sourdough or homemade hummus on rye – can use regular bread, I just give him what we eat.
      * Oh, and he LOVES eggy bread – or as we call it, froggy toast. Eggs and spinach blitzed, dip in your bread and cook in a non-stick pan until cooked through. This is a breakfast I give him on the weekend (no eggs at daycare) but could definitely be a snack too!

      I hope that helps! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

